Repo Laws - Repossession Laws - Repo-Laws.com Logo

Arizona Repo Laws - Repossession Laws

 

 

Because the Repo Laws - Repossession Laws may change from time to time, please check the Arizona Courts website for updated and complete Repo Laws - Repossession Laws in Arizona.

 


 

Repo Laws - Repossession Laws in Arizona:

 

Where do I refer to for Title or License Registration?

For state Title and License Information, refer to:

 

The Arizona Department of Transportation

Motor Vehicle Division

1801 W. Jefferson

Phoenix, Arizona 85007

 

Tel. (602) 255-7011.

 

Fees for search of records are $3.00 by US mail.

Security Interests:

Shown on title, title mailed to debtor, lien-holder record mailed to lienholder.

 

Recording Requirements:

Must be recorded with Recorder of County in the county in which goods are situated at the time of sale. Commercial Code adopted in January, 1968.

Recovery Requirements:

As per the UCC, repossession is allowed and permitted as long as it is peaceful.

Redemption Requirements:

Debtor can redeem within 10 days after seizure. If 50% of purchase price has been paid, public sale with notice is required. If more than $500.00 has been paid, publication in newspaper is also required. Less than 50% or $500.00, private sale permitted.

Deficiency Requirements:

Retaking does not bar suit for price, and vice versa. Confession of judgment notes are valid.

Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:

Lien must appear on title. Secretion of mortgaged goods is a crime.

Documents Required to Transfer Ownership of Motor Vehicle:

Certificate of title in name of registered owner with Power of Attorney signed by registered owner and lien termination statement or certificate of title in name of legal owner, properly endorsed to make instrument negotiable.

 

Documents Required for Liquidation:

Arizona Lien-holder record or out-of-state title, AZ MVD "Affidavit of Repossession/Bill of Sale" form and vehicle inspection if vehicle not previously registered in Arizona.

 

Plates:

Plates belong to the registered owner of the vehicle. They remain with the debtor. Within 30 days, you must either transfer the plate credit to another vehicle you own or request a refund (EZ Refund.

 

All recovery requirements and fees are current as of 2002.

 


 

Repo-Laws.com does not warrant the accuracy of these Repo Laws - Repossession Laws or recovery requirements. The Repo Laws - Repossession Laws or recovery requirements listed on Repo-Laws.com are only a starting point for reference, and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or state if you have any questions about repossession there.

Arizona repo companies