Indiana Repo Laws - Repossession Laws
Repo Laws - Repossession Laws in Indiana:
Where do I refer to for Title or License Registration?
For state Title and License Information, refer to:
Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Ave., #401
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Telephone: (317) 232-2798
Fee for search of records is $4.00.
Shown on title held by lienholder.
Uniform Commercial Code (UCC)
adopted in July, 1964: with County
Recorder of county where mortgagor
resides: if non-resident, where
goods are located.
As per the UCC, repossession is
allowed and permitted as long as it
Prior to foreclosure for chattel
mortgages and within 21 days of
retaking for conditional sales
Allowed. Regulated by State Statute.
Lien must appear on certificate of title.
Title in owner's name showing lien (if possible to obtain). Certified true copy of contract. Certificate of Repossession and application for title in lienholder's name. Lienholder must obtain title in their name to dispose of vehicle.
Documents Required for Liquidation:
Certified copy of Contract (Form 1 Certificate of Repossession from California, Tennessee, Texas). All other states must have a repossession title in the client's name.
Remain with the owner / debtor.
All recovery requirements and fees are current as of 2002.
Repo-Laws.com does not warrant the accuracy of these Repo Laws - Repossession Laws or recovery requirements. The Repo Laws - Repossession Laws or recovery requirements listed on Repo-Laws.com are only a starting point for reference, and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or state if you have any questions about repossession there.