Repo Laws - Repossession Laws - Repo-Laws.com Logo

New Jersey Repo Laws - Repossession Laws

 

 

Because the Repo Laws - Repossession Laws may change from time to time, please check the New Jersey Courts website for updated and complete Repo Laws - Repossession Laws in New Jersey.

 


 

Repo Laws - Repossession Laws in New Jersey:

 

Where do I refer to for Title or License Registration?

For state Title and License Information, refer to:

 

Motor Vehicle Commission
Special Titles
P.O. Box 017
225 East State Street
Trenton, NJ 08666-0017

 

Telephone: (609) 292-6500

 

Request for Title Search – Fee $10.50 - Form #ISM/DO-22A
Request for Lien Search – Fee $5.00 – Form ISM/DO-22

Security Interests:

Shown on title held by lienholder.

 

Recording Requirements:

Per the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) adopted in July, 1963: With County Clerk of county where property is located, within 5 days. Refer to Department of Banking for confirmation and filing of chattel mortgages.

Recovery Requirements:

As per the UCC, repossession is allowed and permitted as long as it is peaceful. Suit for purchase price prohibits recovery and vice-versa.

Redemption Requirements:

Prior to Sale. Resale mandatory where 50% of purchase price has been paid. Resale optional with buyer where less than 50% has been paid.

Deficiency Requirements:

If contract so provides.

Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:

Statement of encumbrance (form CO85B) must be filed with the director of Motor Vehicles with title papers and encumbrances resulting therefrom shown on certificates of ownership for chattel mortgages.

Documents Required to Transfer Ownership of Motor Vehicle:

Manufacturers statement of origin for new cars. Ownership of used car is passed through assignment by the seller to the buyer on the certificate of ownership.

 

Documents Required for Liquidation:

Application (CO-56), Writ of Execution stamped "True Copy" signed by the Clerk of Court, copy of posted notice of sale and original title.

 

Plates:

Remain with the owner / debtor, "as long as you have not changed the ownership. The same name must be used for both registrations and the registration code needs to remain the same. If you sell a vehicle and do not transfer its plates to another vehicle, you have to turn in the old plates to MVC." From: http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Vehicle/Transferringplates.htm

 

All recovery requirements and fees are current as of 2002.

 


 

Repo-Laws.com does not warrant the accuracy of these Repo Laws - Repossession Laws or recovery requirements. The Repo Laws - Repossession Laws or recovery requirements listed on Repo-Laws.com are only a starting point for reference, and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or state if you have any questions about repossession there.

New Jersey repo companies