South Carolina Repo Laws - Repossession Laws
Repo Laws - Repossession Laws in South Carolina:
Where do I refer to for Title or License Registration?
For state Title and License Information, refer to:
South Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 1498
Columbia, South Carolina 29216
Telephone: (803) 251-2950
Fees for search of records is $0.50.
Shown on title held by lienholder.
Per the Uniform Commercial Code
adopted January, 1968: Must be filed
within 10 days in the county where
buyer or mortgagor resides; if
non-resident, where property is
located at time of execution of
instrument. The place of recording
in the office of the Registrar of
Mesne Conveyances; where such office
does not exist, with the Clerk of
As per the UCC, repossession is
allowed and permitted as long as it
is peaceful, after a Twenty Day
Right to Cure Letter from lienholder
Cure law in effect.
Liens must be recorded on face of
the title. (Exclusive method of
Title and lien release; repossession affidavit and notarized Power of Attorney.
Documents Required for Liquidation:
Notarized bill of sale, title and repossession affidavit.
Remain with the owner / debtor.
All recovery requirements and fees are current as of 2002.
Repo-Laws.com does not warrant the accuracy of these Repo Laws - Repossession Laws or recovery requirements. The Repo Laws - Repossession Laws or recovery requirements listed on Repo-Laws.com are only a starting point for reference, and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or state if you have any questions about repossession there.